Can You Only Equip as a Sorcery?
When it comes to equipping an equipment in Magic: The Gathering, there is a crucial aspect to consider: the timing of equipping. In this article, we will delve into the topic of whether you can only equip as a sorcery and explore the intricacies of equipping.
Direct Answer: Yes, You Can Only Equip as a Sorcery
The answer to the question "Can you only equip as a sorcery?" is a resounding yes. According to Rule 702.6a of the Magic: The Gathering rules, "Equip [cost] means [Cost]: Attach this permanent to target creature you control. Activate only as a sorcery."
Timing of Equipping: Activated Ability vs. Continuous Ability
It’s essential to understand the distinction between an activated ability and a continuous ability. Activated abilities, like the equip ability, can be activated by paying the appropriate cost during the game. Continuous abilities, on the other hand, are abilities that stay on the stack until a player’s end step or until the ability is disrupted.
**Equip Ability: An Activated Ability
The equip ability is an activated ability that can be activated only during one of your main phases. This means you can activate the ability whenever you can cast a sorcery spell. The cost of the ability is to pay the equip cost and attach the equipment to the target creature you control.
Table: Timing of Equipping
Time | Type of Ability |
---|---|
Any time | Continuous ability |
During a main phase | Activated ability |
Why You Can’t Equip Outside of Your Main Phase
Why can’t you equip an equipment outside of your main phase? The reason lies in the definition of the equip ability. As stated in the Magic: The Gathering rules, the equip ability is an activated ability that can be activated only during one of your main phases. This means that you can only equip an equipment during the time you can cast sorceries.
Equipping with Other Types of Spells
While the equip ability is only activable as a sorcery, you can use other types of spells to equip your equipment. For example, you can use a permanent or a spell to attach your equipment to your creature.
Table: Equipping with Other Types of Spells
Spell Type | Can You Use to Equip? |
---|---|
Sorcery | Yes |
Instant | No |
Triggered ability | No |
Continuous ability | No |
In Conclusion: Can You Only Equip as a Sorcery?
In conclusion, the answer to the question "Can you only equip as a sorcery?" is indeed yes. The equip ability can only be activated during one of your main phases, which is when you can cast a sorcery. This highlights the importance of understanding the timing of equipping in Magic: The Gathering. By grasping the difference between activated abilities and continuous abilities, you can strategically plan your gameplay and take advantage of equipping opportunities.
Significant Takeaways:
- Equip ability can only be activated during one of your main phases
- Equip ability can only be activated as a sorcery
- You can use other types of spells to equip your equipment
By following this article and understanding the rules of Magic: The Gathering, you can improve your gameplay and become a better player.
- What’s the difference between Mario Party 8 and 9?
- How many people still play World of Warcraft today?
- What happens if you don’t save your Minecraft world?
- What happened to Chuck Greene’s daughter?
- What is the max EVs per level?
- Is the modern bow good in the Forest?
- Is Call of Duty: WWII realistic?
- Is Farcry 5 bloody?