Do 1 /+ 1 counters stay on man lands?

Do 1 /+ 1 Counters Stay on Man Lands?

Introduction

Mana lands, also known as "man lands," have been a staple in many Magic: The Gathering strategies. However, when these lands have +1/+1 counters on them, the question arises: Do 1 /+ 1 counters stay on man lands? To answer this question, it’s essential to understand how +1/+1 counters work, how man lands interact with them, and what the implications are on gameplay.

What Are +1/+1 Counters?

+1/+1 counters are special counters that can be attached to permanents, like creatures or planeswalkers, on the battlefield. These counters increase the affected permanent’s power and toughness by +1/+1. The counters can also be added or removed depending on specific card effects and interactions.

How Man Lands Interact with +1/+1 Counters

Mana lands, also known as "man lands," are a type of land card that can enter the battlefield tapped. Despite their mana-producing abilities, man lands are not treated as spells and do not use the stack. +1/+1 counters attached to a man land before it transforms into a non-creature permanent remain attached to it. [1]

State-Based Effects

State-based effects are triggers that occur periodically throughout the game, triggered by changes in the game state. For example, at the beginning of each combat phase, creatures with an activated ability that can create +1/+1 counters trigger this effect. According to rule 121.3, when a permanent or token that has +1/+1 counters is dealt lethal damage, the last set of counters is put onto the stack and removed. [2]

Implications

In summary, do 1 /+ 1 counters stay on man lands? The answer is yes! If +1/+1 counters are attached to a man land before it transforms, they remain attached to the man land. However, if the man land becomes a creature, the +1/+1 counters become immediately suspended, and a state-based effect triggers removing them. [3]

Bullets List to Remember

• +1/+1 counters remain on man lands if attached before transformation
• Man lands do not use the stack and do not trigger as spells
• State-based effects trigger when a permanent or token with +1/+1 counters is dealt lethal damage
• A table is provided below, illustrating the interaction between +1/+1 counters, man lands, and combat:

Man Land+1/+1 Counters Before TransformationCombat Phase
Has +1/+1 countersRemains attachedSuspended
Becomes creatureSuspendedRemoved
ScenarioEffect
Attaching +1/+1 counters before transformationStay attached to man land
Transforming into non-creature permanent
Dealt lethal damage during combatImmediate removal of +1/+1 counters

Conclusion

In conclusion, do 1 /+ 1 counters stay on man lands? Yes, when +1/+1 counters are attached to a man land before it transforms into a non-creature permanent, they remain attached to the man land. As the man land becomes a creature, the +1/+1 counters become immediately suspended and are removed upon lethal damage. Understanding how +1/+1 counters interact with man lands allows for informed deck-building decisions and better gameplay strategies in Magic: The Gathering.

Your friends have asked us these questions - Check out the answers!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top