Does proliferate work on incubate?

Does Proliferate Work on Incubate?

In the world of Magic: The Gathering, the concept of Proliferate and Incubate has been a topic of debate among players and theorists alike. Does Proliferate work on Incubate, or are these two abilities mutually exclusive? In this article, we’ll dive deep into the rules and mechanics of these two concepts to provide a comprehensive answer to this question.

Direct Answer

Yes, Proliferate can work on Incubate. However, there are certain conditions and limitations to consider.

Understanding Proliferate

Proliferate is an ability that creates one or more +1/+1 counters on each creature without a +1/+1 counter on it. It’s a way to spread +1/+1 counters from one creature to others, effectively growing an entire army of creatures.

Understanding Incubate

Incubate is an ability that creates a token creature with a specified number of +1/+1 counters on it. These tokens can be used as sacrifices, attacking creatures, or even as a form of life gain.

Interaction Between Proliferate and Incubate

When a creature with the Incubate ability is created, it immediately gets a certain number of +1/+1 counters. Proliferate can then target this creature and create more +1/+1 counters on it, just like it would on any other creature. This means that Proliferate can work on Incubate, adding more +1/+1 counters to the token creature.

Key Points

Proliferate can target Incubate tokens: Proliferate can target the token creature created by the Incubate ability, just like it would on any other creature.
Proliferate creates more +1/+1 counters: Proliferate creates one or more +1/+1 counters on each creature without a +1/+1 counter on it, including Incubate tokens.
Incubate tokens can have more +1/+1 counters added: Proliferate can add more +1/+1 counters to the Incubate token, just like it would on any other creature.

Scenarios and Examples

Scenario 1: A player casts an Incubate spell, creating a 2/2 creature with 2 +1/+1 counters on it. Then, a Proliferate ability is activated, targeting the Incubate token and creating 2 more +1/+1 counters on it. The resulting creature is now a 4/4 creature with 4 +1/+1 counters.
Scenario 2: A player casts an Incubate spell, creating a 1/1 creature with 1 +1/+1 counter on it. Then, a Proliferate ability is activated, targeting the Incubate token and creating 3 more +1/+1 counters on it. The resulting creature is now a 4/4 creature with 4 +1/+1 counters.

Table: Proliferate on Incubate Scenarios

ScenarioStarting CreatureProliferate AdditionFinal Creature
12/22 +1/+1 counters4/4 with 4 +1/+1 counters
21/13 +1/+1 counters4/4 with 4 +1/+1 counters

Conclusion

In conclusion, Proliferate can work on Incubate, adding more +1/+1 counters to the token creature created by the Incubate ability. This interaction allows players to grow their creatures even more, making for a more complex and strategic game.

Key Takeaways

• Proliferate can target Incubate tokens, just like any other creature.
• Proliferate creates one or more +1/+1 counters on each creature without a +1/+1 counter on it, including Incubate tokens.
• Incubate tokens can have more +1/+1 counters added to them through Proliferate.

By understanding how Proliferate works on Incubate, players can better navigate the complexities of Magic: The Gathering and make more informed decisions during gameplay.

Your friends have asked us these questions - Check out the answers!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top