What happens when you cast a spell from exile?

What Happens When You Cast a Spell from Exile?

Casting a spell from exile is a unique situation in Magic: The Gathering, and it’s essential to understand what happens when you do so. In this article, we’ll dive into the details of casting a spell from exile and explore the implications it has on the game.

Direct Answer

When you cast a spell from exile, the spell goes to the stack and is considered a new object. The spell’s timing and priority rules are the same as if you had cast it from your hand. Once the spell resolves, it will move to the graveyard, just like any other spell.

Exile vs. Graveyard

Before we dive deeper into the specifics, it’s essential to understand the difference between exile and the graveyard. Exile is a separate zone from the graveyard, and cards that are exiled are not in the graveyard. When a card is exiled, it’s removed from the game and can’t be returned to the graveyard.

Casting a Spell from Exile

Now that we’ve covered the basics, let’s look at what happens when you cast a spell from exile:

  • The spell goes to the stack: When you cast a spell from exile, it immediately goes to the stack and becomes a new object.
  • Timing and priority rules apply: The spell’s timing and priority rules are the same as if you had cast it from your hand. This means that the spell will interact with other spells and abilities on the stack as usual.
  • The spell resolves: Once the spell resolves, it will move to the graveyard, just like any other spell.
  • No page counter: The page counter ceases to exist when the spell is cast from exile. This means that the spell won’t have a page counter when it’s in the graveyard.

Implications of Casting a Spell from Exile

Casting a spell from exile has several implications that you should be aware of:

  • Counter spells: If a counter spell is cast against a spell that’s being cast from exile, the counter spell will target the exiled spell and resolve normally.
  • Ability triggers: Ability triggers on the exiled spell will not trigger when it’s in the graveyard.
  • Lingering abilities: Lingering abilities on the exiled spell will not linger when it’s in the graveyard.

Casting Spells from Exile: A Table

Here’s a table summarizing what happens when you cast a spell from exile:

StepWhat Happens
1The spell goes to the stack
2Timing and priority rules apply
3The spell resolves
4The spell moves to the graveyard
5No page counter

Conclusion

Casting a spell from exile is a unique situation in Magic: The Gathering, and it’s essential to understand what happens when you do so. By following the steps outlined in this article, you’ll be able to navigate the complexities of casting spells from exile and make the most of this powerful game mechanic.

Your friends have asked us these questions - Check out the answers!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top